Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Caroline Beasley Elected to Lead NAB Joint Board

Tri State’s Randy Gravley to chair Radio Board

Caroline Beasley at Radio World’s 2016–17 Excellence in Engineering Award presentation to Beasley Media Group’s Michael Cooney during the NAB Show. Shown from left are Radio World Editor in Chief Paul McLane; Beasley’s Steve Meyers and 2016–17 award recipient Mike Cooney; 2004 award honoree Andy Andresen (middle row); Caroline Beasley (foreground); Soni Dimond (rear), Justin Chase and Bruce Beasley; 2006 honoree John Lyons; and Beasley’s Buzz Knight. Photo by John Staley

Radio’s continued significance to the National Association of Broadcasters and its members was confirmed at the recent NAB board of directors meeting in Washington.

The NAB Joint Board of Directors unanimously elected Beasley Media Group CEO Caroline Beasley as the new Joint Board chair. She succeeds Tegna Media President/CEO Dave Lougee, whose term expired.

The NAB Radio Board also elected a new chair: Tri State Communications President/CEO Randy D. Gravley was chosen for the position. Also, NRG Media President/CEO Mary Quass and Neuhoff Communications President/CEO Beth Neuhoff were reelected as Radio Board first vice chairman and second vice chairman, respectively. Media Group President Kim Guthrie was also was elected to the Radio Board’s major group representative seat.

The NAB Television Board named Hearst Television President Jordan Wertlieb as its new chair. The Television Board’s first vice chair and second vice chair are now Graham Media Group President/CEO Emily Barr and Quincy Media President/CEO Ralph M. Oakley. Additionally, Joseph M. Di Scipio, senior vice president of legal and FCC compliance, Fox Television Stations, was appointed to the designated network seat on the TV executive committee.

Beasley was named to the NAB Radio Board in 2015, and she is the daughter of founder George Beasley, who stepped down from his CEO role in March 2016 but still serves as the company’s board chairman. After several months as interim CEO, she was named to the permanent role Jan. 1.