Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Charlotte Broadcast Hall of Fame Announces Inaugural Class

If you’re a broadcaster and in the Charlotte, N.C. area around Aug. 21, you might want to attend the inauguration of the Charlotte Broadcast Hall of Fame.

It was founded by Central Piedmont Community College and is currently housed in the WTVI(TV) studios in the Queen City.

The first class of broadcasters who will be officially on inducted on Aug. 21 during an honorary luncheon at the Charlotte City Club, with Bill Whitaker, correspondent for CBS’ “60 Minutes” and former WBTV reporter, serving as the keynote speaker.

Not surprisingly the class is heavy with alums from WBT(AM/TV), the city’s well-known broadcast pioneer AM radio and TV outlets. Notable on the list are CBS’ Charles Kuralt, a WBT radio vet and Rev. Billy Graham.

The 2015 class includes:

● Grady Cole, WBT(AM)
● Charles Crutchfield, WBT(AM/TV)
● Betty Feezor, WBT(TV)
● Earle Gluck, WBT(AM)
● Rev. Billy Graham, a native of Charlotte
● Stan & Sis Kaplan, WROQ(FM)
● Charles Kuralt, WBT(AM)
● Doug Mayes, WBT(AM/TV), WSOC(TV)
● Larry Sprinkle, WROQ(FM)/WCNC(TV)
● Bill Walker, WSOC(TV)

The Charlotte Broadcast Hall of Fame honors the individuals who have played a major role in the region’s distinguished radio and television broadcasting history.

PBS Charlotte General Manager Amy Burkett said, “At the Charlotte Broadcast Hall of Fame, visitors will be able to view pictures, video and audio clips that reflect each inductee’s professional journey.”