Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


CPB Murrow Awards to NPR’s Gilkey and Quist-Arcton

Also commits $7.5 million to public media flagships

Ofeibea Quist-Arcton

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting will honor two National Public Radio journalists with the Edward R. Murrow Award July 9.

Ofeibea Quist-Arcton will be recognized for her reporting across the African continent, including coverage of the Ebola epidemic and Boko Haram’s activities. CPB will also present its first Murrow award to a multimedia journalist: photographer and video editor David Gilkey.

CPB will present the awards to Gilkey and Quist-Arcton at the Public Media Development and Marketing Conference in Washington. Both were part of the NPR team recognized earlier this year with a Peabody Award for their coverage of the Ebola crisis.

Gilkey is an award-winning NPR photographer and video editor. For many years, he has reported from conflict zones, on national disasters, and on human tragedies. He has earned 36 distinctions from the White House Photographers Association, including Still Photographer of the Year in 2011.

Quist-Arcton is NPR’s international correspondent in 24 countries across the African continent. She previously served as the West Africa correspondent for PRI’s The World. Quist-Arcton has been at the vanguard of NPR’s expanded international coverage. She has 25 years of reporting experience.

“This year’s Murrow Award celebrates the courage and commitment of two public media journalists who travel to conflict zones reporting the stories behind the headlines,” said Pat Harrison, president and CEO, CPB. “David Gilkey and Ofeibea Quist-Arcton are symbolic of the professionalism and dedication represented by public media journalists throughout our country and the world, bringing high-quality, trusted news and information to the American people.”

David Gilkey

The Murrow Award recognizes outstanding contributions to public radio by honoring individuals whose work has fostered the growth, quality and positive image of public radio. Past winners include Lourdes Garcia-Navarro, Nina Totenberg, Ira Glass, and others.

Also, in honor of the eight Charlie Hebdo staff killed last winter and in support of freedom of the press and freedom of expression, CPB committed $7.5 million to “Frontline,” NPR’s International Coverage, PBS “NewsHour,” and PRI’s “The World.” CPB’s commitment to local, regional and national journalism will total $24 million this year.