Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


DRM Re-Elects Chairman, Adds Executive Committee Posts

DRM Re-Elects Chairman, Adds Executive Committee Posts

The Digital Radio Mondiale consortium has re-elected its chairman, Peter Senger of Deutsche Welle, to his fifth consecutive two-year term. Senger has served as DRM chairman since the consortium’s inception in 1998.
Senger and other board members were elected during a board meeting in Istanbul last week.
DRM’s long-time vice chairman and treasurer, Jan Hoek of Radio Netherlands, stepped down. After being appointed director general of Radio Netherlands last year, Hoek had indicated he would leave the post. Radio Netherlands remains on the DRM board.
DRM elected two new vice chairmen, John Sykes of the BBC World Service and Alain Delorme of TDF. Albert Heuberger of Fraunhofer IIS was elected treasurer.
The consortium added members to its new Executive Committee, representing Sony International Europe, Thomson Broadcast & Multimedia and Transradio SenderSysteme Berlin AG.
Albert Heuberger of Fraunhofer IIS will chair the Executive Committee. The Executive Board consists of those four as well as the DRM chairman, vice chairmen, Technical Committee Chairman Donald Messer of Radio Netherlands and Commercial Committee Chairman Michel Penneroux of TDF.
Four new companies were elected to the 18-member Steering Board: Radio France, RadioScape Ltd., TRANSRADIO SenderSysteme Berlin AG and WRN.
They join these re-elected Steering Board members: BBC, Coding Technologies, Continental Electronics, Deutsche Welle, Fraunhofer IIS, Hitachi Kokusai Electric Ltd., Radio Netherlands, Robert Bosch, RTL Group, Sony International Europe, TDF, Thomson Broadcast & Multimedia, T-Systems Business Services and VT Communications.
The DRM consortium, founded in 1998, has approximately 100 members.