Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


FCC’s Diversity Committee Rechartered

Members include representatives from CBS Radio, NAB, Entravision and Shooting Star Broadcasting

The FCC has rechartered its federal advisory committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age.

The aim of the group is to advise the commission regarding policies and practices to enhance diversity in telecommunications and related industries, paying close attention to lowering barriers to entry for historically disadvantaged men and women.

Chairman Julius Genachowski extended the terms of current members in December and now the commission has said who’s on the panel.

Among the members are NAB SVP/Deputy General Counsel Erin Dozier, CBS Local Media COO/CBS Radio COO Anton Guitano, Minority Media Telecommunications Council President David Honig, Entravision Communications Chairman/CEO Walter Ulloa, and National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters President Jim Winston. Diane Sutter, trustee of KFWB(AM) Asset Trust, in Los Angeles and Shooting Star Broadcasting, is also on the committee.

Calling their service “invaluable,” Commissioner Mignon Clyburn said she looks forward to receiving and acting on the recommendations and research the members will generate.

The first meeting of the diversity committee for this year is April 25.