Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

The nominees have been announced for the Radio Hall of Fame Class of 2001. The Hall is located in The Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago.
Winners will be inducted in November. Hall of Famer Dick Bartley of ABC Radio Networks will host the national broadcast.
For Network or Syndicated – Active category: Jim Bohannon, Westwood One talk show host; Marian McPartland, piano jazz host on National Public Radio; and “The Rest of the Story” with Paul Harvey Aurandt, composer, creator and writer.
For Network or Syndicated – Pioneer category: actor Mason Adams, known for his role on the soap opera “Pepper Young’s Family” and a regular on “Gangbusters”;.Eddie Anderson, the actor remembered for his role of “Rochester,” the butler on “The Jack Benny Show”; Douglas Edwards, CBS newsman from 1942 to 1988; and Walter Winchell, one of radio’s most influential commentators and an early celebrity journalist.
For Local or Regional – Active: Ron Chapman of K*LUV-FM in Dallas; Dick Purtan of Oldies 104.3 WOMC/Detroit; Scott Shannon, WPLJ/New York City and Morning Zoo creator; and Bob Uecker, the voice of the Milwaukee Brewers known as “Mr. Baseball.”
For Local or Regional – Pioneer: Walter “Salty” Brine, whose program on WPRO/Providence was a New England institution for five decades; Jack Carney, long-time morning show host on KMOX/St. Louis; Ed Dickinson, the host of “Way Back When” on KIDD/Magic 63 in Monterey, Calif.; and Joey Reynolds, Buffalo’s top DJ during the early years of rock, now host of a nightly show on the WOR Radio Network.
Ballots will be mailed in May to Radio Hall of Fame members.