Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Nominate a Georgia Broadcast Engineer

The state association is taking nominations for its Ditty-McLemore Award

GAB logo and tablesqDo you know a broadcast engineer in Georgia who does outstanding work?

The Georgia Association of Broadcasters is accepting nominations for its 2021 Angelo Ditty – Frank McLemore Engineering Award.

Here at Radio World we wish that more state associations had award programs specifically for engineers and technical people and we appreciate those that do. GAB has been doing so since 2013.

It will present the awards on Oct. 23 during its annual GABBY Award ceremony.

Nominees must have 20 or more years in broadcast engineering, with the majority of that time in Georgia. They must exhibit professionalism among their colleagues and a willingness to help other engineers in support of the industry.

Nominations are due Sept. 20. Email yours to mailto:[email protected].

The idea for this award came about when the state of Georgia revised its Emergency Alert System plan in 2012; the association worked closely with the state and received important support from four engineers, so decided to honor them.

It was then named the Angelo Ditty Engineering Award after the association’s longtime ABIP inspector. GAB added the name of another ABIP inspector, Frank McLemore, after his death.

Below is the list of past recipients.


Dick Boekeloo

Robert Butler

Daniel L. Davis

Frank McLemore



Marty Foglia

Michael Lawing



David Williams

Jeff Brock



LaVaughn Thompson

Randy Mullinax

Perley Eppley



Bill Williams

Stu Graham

Knox Carreker



John York

Dick Byrd

Vic Lester



James Gay

Tom Giglio

Bob Helbush



Phil Baker

Jim Gantner

Charlie Harrell