Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NABEF Names Service to America Award Winners

Broadcasters recognized for efforts to improve communities

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation announced the winners of its annual Service to America Awards.

Winners will be honored at the Celebration of Service to America Awards dinner on Monday, June 3, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. The celebration recognizes outstanding community service by local broadcasters.

“The important role that broadcasters play in the lives of people in their communities every day is undeniable,” said NABEF President Marcellus Alexander. “Whether providing lifesaving information as first informers in an emergency or meeting basic needs through food and clothing drives, the winners this year exemplify the true meaning of community service.”

This year’s awards will honor the following radio broadcasters:

Service to Children Awards
These awards spotlight television and radio stations for outstanding programs, campaigns and public service announcements produced for the benefit of children. In 2013, it recognizes Clear Channel’s WGY(AM) of Latham, N.Y.

Each year, WGY organizes The WGY Christmas Wish Campaign benefiting children in the Northeast, with a particular attention to critical care services and recreational programs for ill, underprivileged and homeless youth. Though taking place over the winter months, this multifaceted fundraising effort helps support local nonprofits in their year-round efforts to improve the lives of children aged 19 and under. In 2012, the campaign raised over $94,000, directly benefiting more than 100 nonprofit children’s organizations that applied for grants from WGY.

Service to Community Awards
This category honors radio and television broadcasters for individual campaigns, projects or programs that serve the public good or otherwise provide exemplary service to their local communities. This year, New York City’s WQHT(FM) New York, will be honored for its efforts after the fall superstorm.

In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, WQHT Hot 97’s Hip Hop Has Heart Foundation was in place to respond to the overwhelming needs of the community. During the storm, the station stayed on the air through multiple power outages. In the wake of the storm, Hot 97 ran continuous announcements about disaster relief locations and assistance. In addition, the station’s team reached out to artists and public figures to provide relief to the community.

President’s Special Award
This award recognizes historic and extraordinary achievement by a broadcaster or group of broadcasters. The 2013 award acknowledges the North Carolina Association of Broadcasters and North Carolina’s Radio and Television Broadcasters, which hosted the Vietnam Veterans Homecoming Celebration, along with the U.S.O. of North Carolina and the Charlotte Motor Speedway, and gave over 210,000 North Carolinian Vietnam veterans the welcome they never received.

With involvement from Sen. Richard Burr, NCAB drew broadcasters to create and promote a one-day event for veterans and their families, complete with a motorcycle parade, the Vietnam War Memory Wall and entertainers. Through its member stations, NCAB donated $1,000,000 in public service announcements and produced a live one-hour broadcast of the celebration, which included taped interviews. The event was aired by over 30 television and radio stations.

The awards also recognized TV stations for their efforts. The Service to America Television Award recognized KTUL in Tulsa, Okla. The Service to Children Award went to KSL(TV) of Salt Lake City, Utah, for its Read Today movement to help elementary students read at grade level. The Service to Community Award was given to WFTS in Tampa, Fla., for its Taking Action Against Domestic Violence campaign.

The Celebration of Service to America Awards are sponsored and produced by NABEF with support from Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc., Bonneville International Corp. and the NAB.