Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


NASBA Fosters Better Relations Between Broadcasting and Government

NASBA Fosters Better Relations Between Broadcasting and Government

The National Association of Broadcasters announced that the National Alliance of State Broadcasters Associations will be honored at NAB2004 as this year’s recipient of the Grover Cobb Award.
NASBA represents the leaders of the 50 state broadcast associations, the core of the NAB’s grassroots program. NASBA has played an integral and important part in shaping the debate on issues surrounding the 1996 Telecom Act, the Satellite Home Viewer Improvement Act and low-power FM service, says NAB.
“We value the unique partnership with the 50 state associations and their involvement in our efforts at the NAB,” said NAB President/CEO Eddie Fritts. “They have been steadfast in our public affairs activities including documenting broadcasters’ commitment to their communities.”
Ann Arnold, executive director of the Texas Association of Broadcasters and the current president of NASBA, will be joined by her colleagues when she accepts the Cobb Award at the Annual Broadcast Leadership Dinner on April 18 during NAB2004 in Las Vegas.
The award is named for Grover C. Cobb, who served as NAB’s senior executive vice president for government relations during the 1970s. It recognizes a broadcaster, broadcasting organization or public official who demonstrates unusual dedication to improving broadcasting’s relationship with the federal government.
Past Cobb Award honorees have included Rep. John Dingell, Rep. Harold Rogers, Sen. Conrad Burns and broadcaster Wally Jorgenson.