Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Nominate a Public Radio Engineer for Achievement Award

‘Outstanding contributions’ to the art & science of radio to be honored

The Association of Public Radio Engineers is accepting nominations for the Fifth Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award.

The honor is to be awarded to an individual for “outstanding contributions” to the art and/or science of radio engineering that have made a “significant impact on, or improvement in” the state of the public radio industry. The deadline for nominations is March 7.

Last year’s honorees were Mike Pappas of KUVO(FM), Denver and the late Jim McEachern of NPR. At the dinner last year, Pappas and members of McEachern’s family were visibly touched by the recognition.

The honor will be presented at the annual NPR Labs/APRE Engineering Dinner on April 8 in Las Vegas. Past honorees include Roger Karwoski, assistant manager and director of engineering for KBIA(FM), Columbia, Mo.; Donald Creighton, vice president of technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media; Richard Cassidy, director of IT and new media for WAMU(FM), Washington; and the late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR’s 30 original employees.

Also: Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management for WDUQ(FM), Pittsburgh; Marty Bloss, former director of technology at NPR; Don Danko, vice president for engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio; and John Kean of NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution’s Technology Research Center.

Download the award nomination form from the APRE website to suggest your favorite public radio engineer. Direct questions about the award process to Gordon Carter.