Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


GAB Honors Broadcast Engineers

Association announces recipients of its Ditty-McLemore Award

The Georgia Association of Broadcasters has named the 2022 recipients of its Angelo Ditty – Frank McLemore Engineering Award.

They are Sandy Griffin of WYAY/ABC Capital Cities/WDUN/Jacobs Media; John George, GAB ABIP Coordinator; Charles Kinney of Radio One Atlanta/Cox Radio Atlanta/Cox Media Group Atlanta; and C.B. Gaffney- DBC Savannah/Audacy Atlanta.

“This award recognizes exceptional broadcast engineers who have had a lasting impact on the radio and television stations in the state of Georgia,” the association said. “Beyond their own stations that they have kept on the air, they must also demonstrate professionalism among their colleagues and a willingness to help and support other engineers in the support of the industry.”

They’ll be honored at an event at the annual convention of the Georgia Association of Broadcasters next month.

Angelo Ditty was an FCC inspector for decades who later worked as an Alternate Broadcast Inspection Program inspector for GAB for more than 20 years. He died in 2012.

Frank McLemore was also a former commission agent/inspector and inspector for the ABIP. He passed in 2017.

[Visit Radio World’s People News Page]