Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Radio Hall of Fame Announces 2021 Inductees

Museum of Broadcast Communications also names 33 “Legacy” recipients

Erica Farber Radio Hall of Fame
Erica Farber

Erica Farber and Bill Siemering, prominent figures in U.S. commercial radio and public radio, respectively, are among eight new members of the Radio Hall of Fame.

The Museum of Broadcast Communications also named its first 33 “Legends” inductees, one for each year of the hall’s existence.

Farber is president/CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau and the former publisher/CEO of Radio & Records. Siemering played a critical role in the founding of National Public Radio.

Bill Siemering Radio Hall of Fame
Bill Siemering

The other inductees are air talent. They are Brother Wease, Elliot Segal, Dan Patrick, Kim Komando, Javier Romero and “Preston & Steve,” aka Preston Elliot and Steve Morrison.

All will be honored at a ceremony in Chicago in October. The Radio Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corp. in 1988. The museum has run it since 1991.

The Radio Hall of Fame also decided to recognize of past innovators who have since died.

“While the industry celebrates 100 years of existence, the industry’s Hall of Fame is only 33 years into existence. The centennial milestone provides an opportunity to recognize the talents and efforts of 33 individuals in 2021, as well,” it stated.

The Legacy inductees are:

  • Aku aka Hal Lewis, air personality in Honolulu in 1960-1980’s on KGU and KGMB;
  • Raul Alarcon Sr., radio executive and founder of Spanish Broadcast Systems (SBS);
  • Jackson Armstrong, air personality in Cleveland in 1960–1980’s on WIXY, WKYC, WKBW and other
  • stations;
  • Dr. Joy Browne, syndicated talk radio air personality based from WOR-AM / New York City;
  • Frankie Crocker, air personality in Buffalo and New York City in 1950–1980’s on WUFO, WWRL,
  • WMCA  and WBLS-FM;
  • Don Cornelius, air personality, WVON-AM, Chicago;
  • Tom Donahue, air personality in San Francisco in 1960– 1980’s on KYA, KMPX, KSAN;
  • Bill Drake, programmer and founder, Drake-Chenault Enterprises;
  • Arlene Francis, air personality in New York City in 1930-1960’s and first female host of NBC’s
  • Monitor;
  • Barry Gray, talk radio air personality in 1940-1980’s in New York City on WOR and WMCA;
  • Toni Grant, talk radio air personality in Los Angeles in 1970-1980’s on KABC-AM and others via
  • syndication;
  • Petey Greene, air personality in Washington D.C. in 1960-1980’s on WOL-AM;
  • Maurice “Hot Rod“ Hulbert, air personality in Baltimore and Memphis in 1950 -1970’s;
  • Jocko Henderson, air personality in Philadelphia, New York and Baltimore in 1950-1970’s;
  • Rodney Jones, air personality in Chicago in the 1960’s on WVON-AM;
  • Chuck Leonard, air personality in New York City in 1960-1970’s on WWRL, WABC, WXLO, WRKS,
  • WBLS and others;
  • Melvin Lindsey, the originator of the “Quiet Storm“ late-night music programming format and
  • Washington D.C air personality    the 1970-1980’s;
  • Ron Lundy, air personality in New York City in 1960–1980’s on WABC and WCBS-FM;
  • Mary Margaret McBride, nationally syndicated talk personality based in New York City, 1930-1970’s;
  • Ruth Ann Meyer, programmer of New York City radio stations in 1950-1960’s;
  • Murray “Murray the K” Kaufman, air personality in New York City, 1950-1980’s on stations WINS and
  • WOR-FM;
  • Manuel “Paco“ Navarro, air personality in New York City in 1970-1980’s on WKTU-FM;
  • Pat O’Day, air personality, station owner and concert promoter in Seattle in 1960-1980’s;
  • Eddie O’Jay, air personality and pioneer of R&B radio in Milwaukee and Cleveland in 19960-1980’s;
  • Stu Olds, radio executive and CEO, Katz Media 1970-2010;
  • Alison Steele, air personality in New York City in 1960-1980’s on WNEW-AM and WNEW-FM;
  • “The Real” Don Steele, air personality in 1950-1980’s in Los Angeles on various stations;
  • Martha Jean “The Queen“ Steinberg, air personality in Memphis and Detroit in 1950-1980’s;
  • Todd Storz, radio executive and owner of Storz Broadcasting Company;
  • Jay Thomas, air personality in New York and Los Angeles in 1970-1990’s;
  • Rufus Thomas, air personality in Memphis in 1950-1980’s;
  • McHenry “Mac” Tichenor, radio executive, broadcast station owner of Tichenor Media (Heftel);
  • Nat D. Williams, air personality in Memphis in 1940-1970’s on WDIA-AM.

Museum Chairman David Plier said, “The combined list is the most diverse group of nominees in the hall of fame’s history, which is reflective of the audiences that are and have been listening to radio stations across America all these years.”