Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TAB to Honor Seven Texas Broadcasters

Honorees include two broadcast engineers

At the conclusion of the Texas Association of Broadcasters‘ annual convention, seven industry leaders will be honored at TAB’s awards gala.

“Local radio and television broadcasters have been helping build local communities since the industry’s advent 100 years ago, a tradition embodied by the men and women TAB is recognizing this year with Texas broadcasting’s greatest honors,” said TAB President Oscar Rodriguez.

The gala is slated for Thursday, August 4 at the JW Marriott in Downtown Austin.

Included in the list of honorees is Sonny Cavazos and Gil Garcia, both longtime engineers.

Cavazos will receive the George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence. He is the director of technology at Entravision Communications, holding more than 30 years of broadcast engineering experience.

“[Cavazos] has been on the front line of handling the revolution in engineering and technical change that broadcasters have confronted,” said TAB.

Garcia will receive TAB’s Distinguished Service Award. With a career spanning 55 years in radio, Garcia has served as Certification Chairman for the Society of Broadcast Engineers (Austin Chapter) for 33 years, as well as a being an SBE test proctor.

“A longtime volunteer for TAB on numerous efforts, he most recently curated the curriculum and taught TAB’s inaugural Technical Academy for Chief Radio Operators in May,” said TAB.

Toggle through the gallery below to see photos of the award winners. 

Other honorees of note for the radio industry include Sarah Frazier and Chelsea Reber.

Frazier will be recognized as Broadcaster of the Year. She is the senior vice president/market manager of Audacy’s Houston cluster and has been in radio for 25 years, 20 of which have been spent with CBS Radio/Audacy.

Reber will be awarded the Jason Hightower Award for Broadcast Excellence. She works for Bryan Broadcasting as a news and sports reporter, anchor, and producer. She is also a co-host on NewsTalk 1620/94.5 WTAW’s morning show, “The Infomaniacs.”

On the TV side of things, Kathy Saunders of KDFW/KDFI-TV Dallas-Fort Worth will be named Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year and Amy Anderson, the director of sales for KXAN, KNVA, and KBVO in Austin, will receive the Jason Hightower Award for Broadcast Excellence.

Alan Albarran will be named Educator of the Year. He has authored/edited 15 books on the management and economics of the media industries.

You can read more about the award winners on TAB’s website