Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


WBA Names 2008 Hall of Fame Inductees

They include radio guys Terry Havel, Willie Davis and Jonathan Little.

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association released the names of its 2008 Hall of Fame inductees. They include radio guys Terry Havel, Willie Davis and Jonathan Little, as well as Mike McCormick for his 31-year career in television broadcast management.

Havel served as a disc jockey at several Wisconsin stations in Kenosha and Milwaukee. He also obtained an FCC license and built WBSD(FM) in Burlington, one of two high school radio stations in Wisconsin. He managed that from its first days in 1975 until his retirement from teaching in 2006.

Davis’ broadcast career spanned more than 30 years, following a 12-year NFL Hall of Fame career with the Cleveland Browns and Green Bay Packers, and coinciding with a 27-year stint in the beer and wine distribution business. Starting out as a color commentator on NFL telecasts on NBC, he purchased KACE(FM), Inglewood, Calif., in 1976 and later WAWA(AM), West Allis; WLUM(FM); and WMCS(AM), Milwaukee.

Little started out in 1961 at WHLA(FM), the student station at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. His professional career began at WSPT(FM), Stevens Point, in 1963 and was followed by DJ/PD stints at WISM(FM), Madison; WDUZ(FM), Green Bay; and a 10-year run at WTSO(AM)/WZEE(FM), Madison.

He moved into general management in Madison, putting WMMM(FM) on the air in 1991; and then served at WOLX(FM) from 1995–1997. In 1998, he moved on to Troy Research, a radio, television and motion picture consulting firm.