Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


WSB, Paul Harvey Among Marconi Winners

WSB, Paul Harvey Among Marconi Winners

WSB(AM) in Atlanta is the NAB Marconi Radio Award Legendary Station of the Year. The station went on the air in 1922 and remains a top ratings winner. It is owned by Cox Radio. Marconi winners were announced in Seattle at the end of the NAB Radio Show. Paul Harvey was voted Network Syndicated Personality. Station of the Year honors went to WGN, Chicago; KIRO, Seattle; WFMS, Indianapolis; and WKDZ, Cadiz, Ky., in order of declining market size. WFMS also won Country Station of the Year.
KPWR in Los Angeles won two honors: CHR Station of the Year and Major-Market Personality Award, for Big Boy.
Among the format winners were Spanish winner KGBT(FM) in McAllen, Texas; Urban winner WAMO(FM) in Pittsburgh; and Religious winner KFSH(FM) in Los Angeles.
More format winners: Adult Standards, KABL(AM), San Francisco; AC, WLTW, New York; News/Talk/Sports, KGO, San Francisco; Oldies, WMJI, Cleveland; and Rock, KOZT, Fort Bragg, Calif.
Personalities of the year: Large Market, Jim Scott, WLW; Medium Market, Cathy Blythe, KFOR, Lincoln, Neb; Small Market, Al Caldwell, KLVI, Beaumont, Texas.