Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


25th IBA Spectrum Awards on Saturday

Compton, Conner to be honored

The 25th annual Indiana Broadcasters Association Spectrum Awards ceremony and dinner are scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 10, at the Marriott Indianapolis North Hotel, Indianapolis.

According to the IBA, the Spectrum Awards recognize broadcast excellence for outstanding achievement in broadcasting by Indiana radio and television stations. It adds that the competition is open to all FCC licensed radio and television stations in Indiana and is aimed at “encouraging the highest standards of reporting, community service and production creativity.”

Some 60 Spectrum Awards will be given out in categories like Station of the Year and Special Interest and Cultural Programming. Awards are separated for large-, medium- or small-market stations, as well.

Also on the agenda is the awarding of the Tom Severino Leadership Award to James Conner, vice president, Emmis-Terre Haute (Ind.). He oversees WTHI(FM), WSDM(FM), WWVR(FM) and WSDX(AM).

Additionally, IBA has announced that Linda Compton (pictured), long-time president and CEO of the IBA, is retiring; she’ll be honored at the awards banquet. Dr. Joe Misiewicz will succeed her.