Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Broadcasters Foundation of America Renames Lifetime Achievement Award

The new name will honor the late Edward F. McLaughlin

The Broadcasters Foundation of America has renamed its annual Lifetime Achievement Award to the Edward F. McLaughlin Lifetime Achievement Award.

Edward F. McLaughlin

McLaughlin is widely recognized for discovering Rush Limbaugh, which led to the creation of the News/Talk format and the revitalization of AM Radio, according to the Broadcasters Foundation of America. He passed away in 2018.

The Edward F. McLaughlin Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made invaluable contributions to the television and radio industries. As previously announced, this year’s award will be presented to Richard Wiley during the Golden Mike Award gala on March 6 at the Plaza Hotel in New York City.

In a press release announcing the name change, the foundation said McLaughlin “was a longtime supporter of the Broadcasters Foundation and its mission to provide aid to people in radio and television who are in acute need. He served as the foundation’s Chairman for many years and held the title of Chairman Emeritus when he passed away in 2018.”

Scott Herman, chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation, said McLaughlin was known as a leader and innovator. “He recognized talent and daringly pushed forth new ideas that propelled network and AM radio forward,” Herman said in the press release. “It’s fitting that the Lifetime Award be named in his honor.”

As president of the ABC Radio Networks, McLaughlin implemented the multi-network concept, obtained the first exclusive live network radio rights to the Olympic Game, and acquired programs such as American Top 40 with Casey Kasem and American Country Countdown with Bob Kingsley. He founded EFM Media Management in 1987 to syndicate The Dr. Dean Edell Show and shortly thereafter launched the national syndication of local Sacramento radio host Rush Limbaugh.

Tim McCarthy, president of the Broadcasters Foundation, said McLaughlin was a “champion for the broadcast industry.”

“He was admired for his entrepreneurship and respected for his forward-looking vision,” said McCarthy. “This is one way we honor his memory.”

Among his many accolades, McLaughlin received the Broadcasters Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award, posthumously in 2018. He was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame in 1995 and received the National Association of Broadcasters’ National Radio Award in 1996.

[Visit Radio World’s People News Page]