Broadcasters Foundation to Salute Wiley

To receive Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award at foundation breakfast at NAB Show
Publish date:

The Broadcasters Foundation of America will award the 2014 Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award to former FCC Chairman Richard E. Wiley, at the Broadcasters Foundation of America Breakfast, April 9, at The Wynn. The breakfast is held concurrently with the NAB Show.

The award, underwritten by the Clear Channel Foundation, “honors an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy and entrepreneurship,” according to a release. Wiley was and is an advocate of lessened regulation and he was a promoter of HDTV.

Wiley was head of the FCC 1974–77 and currently leads the eponymous communications law firm, the well-known Washington-based Wiley Rein.


Broadcasters Foundation Names Award for Quaal

The Broadcasters Foundation of America Pioneer Awards, presented annually at the foundation’s Broadcast Pioneers Breakfast, will be named the Ward L. Quaal Broadcast Pioneer Awards in honor of the retired president of WGN Continental Broadcasting, which is now Tribune Broadcasting.