Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Murrow Awards Get Record Numbers of Entries

WBEZ(FM), WDEL(AM) are among Excellence winners

ABC News Radio, WBEZ(FM) in Chicago and WDEL(AM) in Wilmington, Del., were among Overall Excellence Winners in the 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Awards.

The Radio Television Digital News Association presented those awards in New York. They recognize the work of radio, television and online news organizations.

RTDNA awarded 98 national Murrow Awards in 13 categories. It said it received 4,000 entries, “surpassing 2013 by more than 500 entries and setting an all-time record.” The organization called this “one of the most competitive” Murrow Awards seasons.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2014 are:

ABC News (network television)
ABC News Radio (network radio)
The Washington Post (large online news)
The Texas Tribune (small online news)
WCVB(TV), Boston (television, large market)
WBIR(TV), Knoxville, Tenn. (television, small market)
WBEZ(FM), Chicago (radio, large market)
WDEL(AM), Wilmington, Del. (radio, small market)

“Of particular note this year in the Small Market Radio division was KNAU Arizona Public Radio, which pulled off a rare double win in News Series and Writing for its entry Building Hope In Haiti: Flagstaff Responds To Humanitarian Crisis,” the organization added.

See the list of winners with links to winning entries. The organization also honored achievement in the coverage of diversity with the RTDNA/UNITY Awards. Radio winners include Alabama Public Radio, KUOW Public Radio and PRI’s The World.