Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Paul Brenner is NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award Winner

Emmis SVP/CTO heads Broadcast Traffic Consortium

The NAB has announced that Paul Brenner is NAB’s 2012 Radio Engineering Achievement Award winner.

Brenner is senior vice president and chief technology officer for Emmis Communications. Brenner’s work at Emmis focuses on technology business development, industry partnerships, broadcast engineering strategy and the development of new broadcasting and Internet content distribution systems.

According to the announcement, Brenner works both within the industry and with pure-play IT development companies. His perspective gained from interaction with automakers, Internet software companies and portable device makers led him to product developments such as live traffic information through the Broadcaster Traffic Consortium and “TagStation”song tagging for radio broadcasters, developed in partnership with Broadcast Electronics.

Brenner is also president of the Broadcaster Traffic Consortium, a partnership of 16 radio companies in the U.S. and Canada formed to distribute data via FM RDS and HD Radio. He has been a member of the FCC Communications Security, Reliability and Interoperability Council working group for EAS CAP and NAB’s Digital Radio Committee.

Brenner joined Emmis from IT consulting firm DataShare Corporation in 1998. He holds a Masters degree in Information Systems as well as degrees in E-Business and Electronics Engineering Technologies.

Also announced, Glen Reitmeier is the NAB 2012 Television Engineering Achievement Award winner. Reitmeier is SVP Technology Strategy & Policy for NBC Universal. He leads NBC Universal’s technical efforts on industry standards, government policy, commercial agreements, antipiracy operations and advanced engineering.

NAB presents its Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards each year at the NAB Show in Las Vegas. The awards, established in 1959, are given to individuals for their significant contributions that have advanced the state of the art in broadcast engineering.

This year’s winners will be honored at the Technology Luncheon on April 18, at the NAB Show.