Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


WCBS, WQHT Dominate NYSBA Radio Awards

Each station gathers three awards for excellence

Rachael Ray, with WNYT(TV) VP/GM Steve Baboulis, after receiving the New Yorker of the Year Award at the New York State Broadcasters Association 46th Annual Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting. Photo by Michael Gallitelli. The New York State Broadcasters Association gathered this week for its 46th annual Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting.

Most every category had a large market (New York City), medium and small market winner. WCBS(AM) and WQHT(FM) each brought three awards back home to New York City. Albany’s WGY(AM), Rochester’s WXXI(AM), WTKW(FM) in Syracuse, Lockport’s WLVL(AM) and WIBX(AM) in Marcy garnered two awards each.

The winners for radio were:

Outstanding Commercial: WQHT(FM), NYC; WBAB(FM), Babylon; WLVL(AM), Lockport
Outstanding Promotion Announcement or Series: WBLS(FM), NYC; WYJB(FM), Albany; WLVL(AM), Lockport
Outstanding Public Service Announcement/Campaign: WWRL(AM), NYC; WBBS(FM), Syracuse; WJGK(FM), New Windsor
Outstanding Public Affairs Program or Series: WQHT(FM), NYC; WXXI(AM), Rochester; WGHQ(AM), Beacon
Outstanding Spot News: WOR(AM), NYC; WGY(AM), Albany; WIBX(AM), Marcy
Outstanding Local Newscast: WCBS(AM), NYC; WGY(AM), Albany; WVTT(FM), Olean
Outstanding Feature Story: WCBS(AM), NYC; WXXI(AM), Rochester; WIBX(AM), Marcy
Outstanding Station-Sponsored Event: WAVR(FM), Waverly
Outstanding On-Air Broadcast Personality or Team: WQHT(FM), NYC; WTKW(FM), Syracuse; WPIE(AM), Lansing
Outstanding Local Sporting Event: WCBS(AM), NYC; WGVA(AM), Geneva
Outstanding Sportscast: WFUV(FM), NYC; WTKW(FM), Syracuse; WCKM(FM), Glens Falls

WBLS(FM), WSYR(AM), Syracuse and WAVR(FM) were presented with Community Engagement Awards.

Outside of the station awards, domestic goodies diva Rachael Ray was named New Yorker of the Year and Peggy Green, former vice chair of market research agency ZenithOptimedia, was awarded the Carol M. Reilly Award — awarded to the woman who demonstrates excellence, leadership and professionalism.