Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


BFA to Recognize McLaughlin With Lifetime Achievement Award

Award will be presented at the Golden Mike Award Fundraising Dinner on March 5

The Broadcasters Foundation of America will honor Edward F. McLaughlin with a 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award at its annual gala March 5.

McLaughlin joins the ranks of Dick Clark, Bill Hoffman and Charles Osgood, as fellow recipients of this honor. The Golden Mike Award dinner will be held at the Plaza Hotel in New York, and as previously announced, Emily Barr of Graham Media Group will receive the 2018 Golden Mike Award at the same event.

McLaughlin currently holds the title of chairman emeritus for the BFA. As chairman, he helped to redefine the charity’s mission.

“Ed is a visionary who took chances that led broadcasting into uncharted territory and tremendous success,” said Broadcasters Foundation of America Chairman Dan Mason. “His dedication and leadership of the Broadcasters Foundation helped advance our mission.”

McLaughlin has been recognized with the National Association of Broadcasters’ National Radio Award in 1996 and was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame in 1995. He was the first chairman of the Radio Network Association, is a board member of the International Radio & Television Foundation and serves as a trustee of The Paley Center for Media.

He founded EFM Media Management in 1987 and launched the syndicated “The Dr. Dean Edell Show.” McLaughlin also is credited with discovering radio host Rush Limbaugh.

During his 14 years at ABC Radio Networks, he helped expand long-form programming, acquiring “American Top 40 With Casey Kasem,” launching “American Country Countdown With Bob Kingsley” and promoting Paul Harvey’s program.