Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Gordon Smith Is Among the New Broadcasting “Giants”

The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation announces its latest honorees

Gordon Smith, president/CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters, is one of nine people being honored as “giants of broadcasting” by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation.

Its list of giants was begun in 2003 and now consists of more than 200 broadcasters. The foundation will salute the new additions in an online ceremony on Nov. 9. (The nine additions are shown at bottom.)

“The Giants of Broadcasting celebration was created by LABF, a charity dedicated to preserving the past, reflecting the present, and informing the future,” the organization stated. “It was created to honor the remarkable creators, innovators, leaders, performers and journalists who have brought the electronics arts to the prominence they occupy today.”

Gordon Smith has led the NAB for the past 12 years. He will step down at the end of this year.

[Related: “The Broadcasters Foundation Honors Gordon Smith”]

Proceeds from the November online luncheon support the work of the LABF, including the Library of American Broadcasting, which is housed at the University of Maryland. It will also support student training and diversity initiatives of the International Radio and Television Society Foundation.

For event information email [email protected].

The 2021 Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts honorees:

Emily Barr
President and CEO
Graham Media Group

Frank Boyle
President & CEO
Frank Boyle & Co.

Bob Costas
Hall of Fame sports broadcaster

Russell Perry
Founder & President
Perry Publishing & Broadcasting Co.

Robin Roberts
Co-anchor, “Good Morning America”
President, Rock’n Robin Productions

Marion Ross
Emmy, Golden Globe nominated Film and TV Actress
Cast member Marion Cunningham. “Happy Days”

Neal Shapiro
President & CEO
The WNET Group

Sen. Gordon H. Smith
President & CEO
National Association of Broadcasters

Jordan Wertlieb
Senior vice president, Hearst Communications
President, Hearst Television